How to keep the number of likes in Facebook posts secret

You are currently viewing How to keep the number of likes in Facebook posts secret

The number of likes and other reactions to a Facebook post can create stress among users. This is especially true for young Instagram users, according to the company’s own research. As a solution to this, the facility of keeping the amount of reaction secret in Facebook posts was introduced. Let’s look at that process today.

How to do it from smartphone app

The feature can be activated from the smartphone app or website. Let’s start with how to do it from the app.

  • Tap the menu button of the Facebook app. On Android, you will find three dotted icons on the top right, and on the iPhone at the bottom.
  • Scroll down to the ‘Settings and Privacy’ option.
  • Then select ‘Settings’.

Scroll down to the ‘News Feed Settings’ section. Then select ‘Reaction Preferences’. In some cases, the news feed may show in the ‘Preferences’ section instead of the settings.

Here you can keep the amount of reaction in your post (on your posts) secret from others. Again, if you do not want to see the amount of reaction in other posts (on posts from others), you can do that. All you have to do is activate the toggle button next to it.

How to do it from the computer

  • Login to Facebook.
  • Click on the ‘Down Arrow’ icon in the upper right corner.
  • Then select ‘News Feed Preferences’ from ‘Settings and Privacy’ and you will get ‘Reaction Preferences’. Like the mobile phone app, it has toggle buttons ‘On Your Posts’ and ‘On Posts from Others’. Activate one or two options as required.

Good to remember here

  • If you don’t want to show others the amount of reaction to your own post, it will only be effective on your profile and newsfeed.
  • When users make a post from the Group, Marketplace, Events, Pages and Stories section, other users will be able to see the amount of reaction to the post.
  • Enabling the option will hide the reaction of all the posts at once. There is no option to turn off or activate the reaction of a specific post separately.
  • And there is nothing to hide from yourself. You can always see the amount of reaction to your post. You can also see who he reacted to. This means that after activating the option, you will not notice any difference, only others will not be able to see it.

Leave a Reply